Ken Smith AO takes the helm as Chair of The Benevolent Society

Ken Smith AO

The Benevolent Society has appointed Ken Smith AO as its new Chair, succeeding Tim Beresford.

Smith, who joined the Board in October, brings extensive human services leadership experience across government and education. He was awarded an Order of Australia (AO) in the Queens Birthday Honours list for services to public service education and public service in 2021.

“I’m thrilled to be stepping into the role of Chair with an organisation that has been helping Australians since 1813. I’m looking forward to working with the Board and the Executive team to continue The Benevolent Society’s long history of influencing and leading positive social change”

Ken Smith AO

Tim Beresford concludes a five-year term as Chair.

In a statement, CEO Lin Hatfield Dodds recognised Mr Beresford’s leadership, characterised by insight and integrity and welcomed Smith’s extensive expertise in public policy.

Professor Lorraine Sheppard, a physiotherapy and healthcare management professor, also joined the Board.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here