Winners announced at the 2022 Tasmanian Palliative Care Awards

2022 Tasmanian Palliative Care Awards, Government House Hobart, 9th August, 2022

Palliative Care Tasmania (PCT), the peak body for palliative care, this evening announced the winners of the sixth annual Tasmanian Palliative Care Award at Government House in Hobart.

The event was attended by the Governor of Tasmania, Her Excellency the Honourable Barbara Baker AC and Emeritus Professor Don Chalmers AO (University of Tasmania), along with 80 invited guests.

The awards attracted a record number of nominations from across the state, recognising those individuals who provide essential care and comfort to those experiencing end-of-life.

By recognising the depth and breadth of people and organisations that support dying Tasmanians, we give visibility to what can sometimes be an invisible workforce and volunteer network. We are thrilled we can take this time, once a year, to thank just a small handful of these wonderful people.

CEO of Palliative Care Tasmania Colleen Johnstone

Outstanding Palliative Care Professional

  • Dr Ann Buchan – General Practitioner, Ochre Medical Centre, King Island


  • Kristina Mullins – Nurse Practitioner, Moreton Group Medical Services

Outstanding Palliative Care Volunteer/Carer

  • Mark Kelly – Volunteer, Lifeline Tasmania


  • Sarah De Jonge – Founder of 1000 Hearts

Outstanding Palliative Care Service Provider

  • North Eastern Soldiers Memorial Hospital, Scottsdale – Nursing Team


  • W.Whittle Palliative Care Unit

Outstanding Achievement in Palliative Care

  • Working It Out – The Silver Rainbow Program


  • Li-Ve Tasmania – Healthy Dying for People with Disability project

Excellence in Palliative Care – Aged Care setting

  • Andrew Buckley – Enrolled Nurse, Peacehaven Residential Aged Care, Launceston


  • King Island Hospital & Health Centre – Netherby Home Nursing Staff & Carers

Excellence in Palliative Care – Community setting

  • Community Rapid Response Service- North West


  • The Golden Wattle Café, Glenorchy

The 2022 Tasmanian Palliative Care Honour Roll has two inductees:

  • Mrs Helen Gower (recognised posthumously)
  • Mrs Viki Elphinstone  

To read the full announcement visit the Palliative Care Tasmania website here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here